Be Bold 2016: Why I Choose to Feed My Soul Than #GymGoals

Mind Spirit Body

Let’s be brutally honest here for a second. I HATE going to the gym. I’ve tried so many times to make a consistent gym routine but, I’ve found it tough to do that especially when I have so many networking or PR events to attend on a weekly basis. Now I know you might be thinking, “Christina, you’re just making excuses because you could go to the gym in the morning.” Well, because it takes me 1.5 hours to get ready in the morning (not kidding), that would mean I would need to wake up at 4:30 and be at the gym by 5 a.m, and I’m just not about that life at this moment in time. Not making excuses, just being real here.

For some, working out is therapeutic and more power to you, but for me, my therapy is sitting in a quite corner with a glass of wine writing my feelings out in my journal. As part of our Be Bold 2016 linkup, today’s post is about our health goals for the year. For me, I want to change the game a little and talk about self-care and self-love as a health goal and why this year I’m focusing on mind, spirit and body instead of #GymGoals.

My Mind: I love reading self-help books. My goal in the future is to write and publish one of my own for preteens and teens that struggle with acceptance and with self-love. I think it’s crucial for young women to educate themselves in self-love and most importantly be able to feel confident in their own skin. One of my goals this year is to read one  inspirational book a month. I want to fill my mind with positivity and inspiration all through the year.

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 11.47.30 AM

My Spirit|Spirituality: My faith is the most important component in my life. Without it, I would be nothing. This year, I want to take some time to unplug and spend one hour a day journaling, praying or attending adoration. I regularly meet with a spiritual director to keep myself in-check and Pete and I are also accountability partners for when it comes to prayers for one another. Being spiritually fed is vital to my life and well-being, and I know I want to stay full throughout the year.

Screen Shot 2016-01-21 at 11.50.03 AM

My Body: While I’m not on that whole “#GymGoals” life, that doesn’t mean I’m not going do some form of exercise. I do want to be healthier, so for me, that goal is to try and drink more water, go to bed earlier and do a form of exercise that makes me happy. Some things I want to do this year are: take a hip-hop dance class, do more yoga, take a walk outside at the park and just spent time outdoors, walk another 5k, frequently get massages for my back and neck pain, stretch, and not eat out so much.

I hope to live fearless when it comes to my mind, spirit and body and always be mindful about practicing self-love and self-care.

What are your health goals for 2016? Comment below or share your blog post by clicking the Be Bold 2016 Graphic below!
be-bold-button300

SBG_SignatureLogo

 

 

 

 

Want more of The Social Butterfly Gal? Subscribe to the email list at the top and follow along on FacebookTwitter and Instagram!

12 thoughts on “Be Bold 2016: Why I Choose to Feed My Soul Than #GymGoals

  1. Laura says:

    Mental health is super important, by far! But, girl, how does it take an hour and a half?! Maybe I’m just the worst at putting myself together, but I take 15 minutes tops. I’m always curious what people do in the morning to get ready! Also, good luck with your self-help book!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Stephanie says:

    I love your mind/body/spirit perspective! Taking care of the inside is so important for long term health. One of my goals in the new year is to treat myself in moderation and invest in quality vs. quantity (workouts, skin care, books, food, etc.) Good luck to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Becky says:

    I love that you want to focus on self-love and self-care. I think if you don’t have that, you really can’t start to do anything else. And I think that everyone seems to have drinking more water on their list for the year, I know I do!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment